TV

Stranger Things

netflix stranger things poster

I normally only post about movies or movie-related content, but I can’t help but join the conversation surrounding Netflix’s hit series Stranger Things.

As of this writing I have reached the midpoint in the series. With four more episodes to go, I have tons of thoughts/ideas/concerns about how this first season will wrap up.

Here are some of my initial thoughts on Stranger Things:

  • The cast is incredible.
    • The four young friends at the center of the show (Finn Wolfhard, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin, and Noah Scnhapp) are so much fun to watch onscreen. We all wish that we could be a part of a crew this fun and loyal. Even though they are all young actors, each has a wide range and I find their performances to be extremely compelling.
    • Three words: Millie.Bobby.Brown- this girl is almost beyond words. Such talent to not even be in her teens yet! Her character Eleven is so complex and multi-layered and Brown has just done a beautiful job bringing the character to life.
    • I honestly think this is some of the best work I’ve seen from Winona Ryder in recent years.She is completely immersed in this role and that makes for a satisfying watch. From her drab minimalistic look to the way her eyes are always shifting- it makes it all the more understandable why no one believes her when she talks about the weird things she is seeing and hearing in her home. It seems as if she lost her credibility in this small town a long time ago.

 

stranger-things-105_0
Gaten Matarazzo as Dustin, Flinn Wolfard as Mike, and Caleb McLaughlin as Lucas in Netflix’s Stranger Things
  • Mystery + Sci-Fi + Horror?
    • I’m always down for a good mystery and Stranger Things has no shortage of them. For every answer you get (or think you get), there are 20 questions that follow. This show keeps you continuously wondering what is going to happen next.
    • I’ve never been a huge Sci-Fi fan. It’s just not my cup of tea (don’t judge me!) especially when a little horror is tossed into the mix. I have such an incredible sense of imagination already so I generally try to avoid horror movies/tv shows.So far there have only been a few cringe-worthy moments. Beast growls, shady figures moving in the bushes, creepy thing(s) trying to claw out of a wall, etc. I know that this will probably only get worse as the series continues, but I’m already invested. Here’s to sleeping with the lights on! 🙂
stranger-things
Winona Ryder as Joyce in Netflix’s Stranger Things
  • The music
    • The eerie wordless theme song is perfect. Actually, all of the music featured is great. Even though I will probably never hear The Clash’s “Should I Stay or Should I Go” quite the same way again…
  • The pacing
    • There could potentially be a lot to unpack in each episode, but the pacing of Stranger Things is not overwhelming like some other shows. You get just enough to keep coming back and there is no dizzying headache of information that follows, just questions that you find yourself forming. (What on earth happened to Will!? Is he really actually for real dead? Who the heck is behind this conspiracy? What the heck was that Shepherd crawled into? How did Eleven get her powers!?  THE LIST IS ENDLESS my friends)
st
A still from Netflix’s Stranger Things
  • NOSTALGIA
    • As a 90’s kid who was briefly obsessed with everything 80s-related, I can definitely appreciate all of the nostalgia here from the music to the clothing. It’s also oddly refreshing to see a plot that has to work without all of our current-day technology.

Overall, Stranger Things seems to be a pretty solid show. As aforementioned, I have four more eps to go, which I can knock out in no time. This list is basically pros only, so maybe after I complete Season One I’ll have a con or two to add.

***********************************************************************

So I finished the rest of the series in a short period of time as expected. I don’t have too much else to add other than I can’t wait until Stranger Things returns because I want to know what happened to Eleven. I’m also really curious about Will and the mysterious changes he seems to be experiencing…

*************************************************************************

Season 2 will premiere on October 31, 2017 (Halloween) only on Netflix!

Stranger-Things-Eleven-Millie-Bobby-Brown
Netflix Stranger Things GIF
5 thoughts on “Stranger Things”

  1. “I have such an incredible sense of imagination already so I generally try to avoid horror movies/tv shows”

    Girl SAME! It’s never the scary movie/show/whatever that scares me, it’s the fact that for the next week, every time I am alone in a room my brain runs away with ‘what if you turned around and *scary thing #4* was right behind you!!!’ and I freak myself out. I saw like 5 minutes of The Grudge once when I was like 15 and I CRIED myself to sleep for like 3 days, because even if it’s totally ridiculous, and I KNOW nothing is gonna be there, my sense of fear fought my logic that, when i went to sleep, that little ghost kid was gonna peek over the edge of the bed at me.

    Stranger Things def made me jump quite a few times, but thankfully, I have a cat now, so I’ve sort of trained myself into ‘scary noise? definitely my cat!’ so it’s not as scary anymore.

    Like

    1. Isn’t it crazy how the mind works?! I had already finished Stranger Things when a few nights afterwards the lights flickered late one night. I just KNEW the demagorgon was coming to get me!!!!

      You now have me thinking about the usefulness of a cat in these situations…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

