spirituality

the other side

I graduated from college about six weeks ago and the interim has been oddly quiet. I didn’t give too much thought to what life would be like on the other side of graduation. Perhaps I was just too consumed with preparing for my final exams and training my replacement at my on-campus job. I assumed that even though I wasn’t completely sure what field I wanted to go into…that I had the potential and capability to be a match for a plethora of jobs.

Like many millennials I still haven’t found my niche or career path. Some days this weighs very heavily on my shoulders. I feel a little bit like a failure and it makes me question the validity of my talents and skills. It’s a weird place to be in because I have this massive diploma that says otherwise, yet I still haven’t secured a job six weeks after graduation. I job search frequently and have had help updating my resume to make it look more professional. Unfortunately, for most of these jobs I read about I’m either highly under-qualified or highly over-qualified or completely disinterested.

Everyone I come into contact with thinks that they have the answer for me.

“Have you thought about teaching?”

“You’d make a great educator!”

“I have a principal friend who you should meet with!”

Or this one:

“Well, why don’t you substitute teach until you decide?”

Let me say I do appreciate the concern that genuine people show me, but sometimes I just want to scream. Seriously…you think I haven’t ALREADY heard those suggestions a billion times? As an English major, everyone automatically assumes that you MUST be going into education. When I switched my major from Communications to English in 2012 I never had the intention of teaching. I just knew that I was a strong writer and I wanted to further develop that skill. I think that we are all called to teach one another in some capacity, but I’ve never felt peace in my heart about doing it for a living. It’s not about me being picky. It’s not about me being lazy (which I’m not-I’ve worked since I was a teenager). It’s about me trying to listen to God’s voice above the uproar of EVERYONE else.  

DSC_0218

So sure some days I worry, I’m human after all, but most days I have the joy and peace of knowing that I’m exactly where God wants me to be for right now. This blog and my fledgling YouTube channel would probably not exist if I had immediately jumped into a career. My relationship with my family wouldn’t be as tight if I wasn’t living at home and spending time with them everyday. And I know for sure that I wouldn’t be growing in the Bible and expanding my prayer time if I was working a 9-5 Monday-Friday.

If you’re in a similiar position I just want to encourage you in this season. Be patient. Put all your trust in God. Don’t get caught up in the comparison game. Take a break from social media if necessary. It’s hard to focus on listening to God’s voice when every time you log into FaceBook, yet another one of your friends has snagged a dream job or is on some tropical carefree vacation. Don’t doubt your worth or your talents. Remind yourself that what is for you will be for you and never forget that God can do the impossible. He can make a way out of no way and He works in mysterious ways. Cling to Him.

Philippians 4:6-7      6  Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. 7  Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. 

Be Blessed today

Xo,

A

2 thoughts on “the other side

Leave a Reply

