spirituality

Living for an audience of One

Isaiah 41:10 was complete truth for me this week.

“Fear not, for I am with you. Be not dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

(This was one of the verses that my mother drilled into my mind as a child. It came in handy when I was afraid of the “boogeymen” in my closet and it comes in handy now as I tackle more serious issues.)

Beauties, I gave my very first speech in a college setting this week and I lived to tell the tale! This may be a surprise to some, but I am SUPER apprehensive about public speaking and I had been dreading this particular speech literally all weekend. It was almost like a dark cloud that hung over my head! I talked to God about it and sought His comfort and wisdom as I prepared just what I wanted to say. I worked all evening Sunday and I even wrote more than one draft of the speech!Shy Student Hiding Behind Note Cards During Class Presentati

I woke up Monday morning, still feeling some anxiety of course, and thought through what I wanted to say about a jillion more times. I went to chapel on campus as I usually do, and during worship all my fears came to a head.  I began asking God for peace and clarity and really told Him all of my “what ifs”. “What if” I mess up and forget something important? “What if” my professor is not impressed? “What if” I don’t reach the time requirement? On and on and on the questions went. I can only imagine how silly I must have looked and sounded to the Almighty! Ha!

I even surprised myself by excessively worrying whether or not my classmates would like me after my presentation. Would they think I was lame and talk about me after class? “What if” they gave me bad peer reviews? In the midst of sharing these thoughts and fears with God, I really began to feel him telling me to stop all my worrying about what others would think. He reminded me that only His voice and opinions should matter to me. He created me in His image and I shouldn’t be overly concerned if people don’t like me or my speeches. Shooooot, they talked about Jesus. I’m definitely not above scrutiny!

Because we’re human, it can be so easy to forget that as Christians, we are living for an audience of One. At the end of the day, our goal should not be to win friends/fans/supporters. We should be concerned with making our Heavenly Father proud and being pleasing in His sight.

Now, you may like public speaking and have no trouble presenting in front of big groups of people. That just happens to be one of my least favorite things. Your fear could be not getting a good job, not making friends at a new school or not graduating on time. I want to encourage you today to not let anything separate you from God and hearing His voice. When life gets crazy and you become afraid, turn to him. The bible tells us to “cast our cares on Him”. 1 Peter 5:7 actually tells us to “give our worries and cares to God, for he cares about us.”

woman-fears-public-speaking

Matthew 6:27 says “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”  (If you want more on defeating the spirit of worry, read my very first blog “Are You a Worry Wart?” here.)

The bottom line is that we have to turn to God. It is in Him and Him alone that we can experience complete peace, complete clarity and complete love! We cannot put our trust in man, because man is fallible and will fail us every time. We also cannot be too caught up in what others think of us! Perhaps I’ll write about the spirit of people pleasing at a later date.

It is my prayer that you will grow a little closer to the Father today than you did yesterday.

Psalm 55:22

“Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.”

ps. and just in case you were wondering……my speech went really well. Thank God! 🙂 

pps. Huge thanks to everyone who wished me a Happy Birthday. It was a great day, spent with family and surrounded in love. Thank you!

ppps. My life has been pretty hectic lately with the Spring Semester just starting up, but I hope to have the next installment in the “Jezebel/P31 series” really soon! 🙂

Be Blessed Beauties!

XO

Leave a Reply

