spirituality · The Jezebel vs. The Proverbs 31 Woman

The Godly Man

If you haven’t read “Jezebel vs. the Proverbs 31 Woman” yet, click here.

It’s important to know just what the Proverbs woman is, because now we’re focusing on the other end of the spectrum: The Godly Man! 🙂

bible

God gives me topics to write about at the most random and least expected times. I love it! I first got the idea for this post while I was on vacation with my family right after Christmas. I woke up one morning and was taking a shower in the hotel bathroom when the idea of writing about the Godly Man popped into my head. If you read “Jezebel vs. the Proverbs 31 Woman” you may remember that the focus of that blog (and the series) is to outline the type of woman that God has called us to be. If you’re studying/practicing to be the Proverbs 31 Woman, it’s important that you have a desire to also find a Godly man to be your husband and partner in life.

This means that you have to date with purpose. In the Christian community, we use a fun little world called courting. If you really stop to think about it, the reason for dating is to find a mate; to find someone who you can build a life with and have a family with one day. The world, however, will tell you the complete opposite: you should date to have fun and sample all that you can before you find the right person.

bad-dating

The world has people believing that “settling down” with one person isn’t cool and that you “have plenty of time” to date and have a good time. As a Proverbs 31 woman, it’s important to see that settling for the standards of the world is detrimental because you’re pressing toward a higher mark. While courting, it’s vital that you look for Godly qualities you desire your husband to possess. Realize that you need a partner in life, someone who is striving toward the same goals and wants to advance the Lord’s kingdom just as badly as you do!.You need the ‘Proverbs 32 Man’.

So before you grab your bible and start frantically flipping through Proverbs or call your pastor, let me clarify by saying that there is no 32nd chapter in Proverbs. Dr. Bob Wenz, a pastor and great visionary, has compiled different verses throughout the bible that describe a godly man and you can read the full passage here.

howachristianmandatesPQ

Six things I love about the ‘Proverbs 32’ man:

  • He loves his wife just like Christ loves his church
    • He would lay down his life to protect her!
  • He is sympathetic, compassionate, and humble
  • He leads a Godly life
    • No clubbing, no profanity, no drugs
  • He has self-control
    • Doesn’t get “wasted” and he practices abstinence (until marriage, after which he sleeps solely with his wife!)
  • He fears (honors and respects) the Lord and he HATES evil
  • God is with this man everywhere he goes

 

This summer I wrote down a list of everything I desire my future husband to be. I got the idea from Heather Lindsey and I recommend you visit her blog here. Basically, every quality/characteristic I could think of, I put it on my list and I tried to be as specific as possible. Some people might say that “Beggars can’t be choosers” and others might accuse me of “doing the most”, but I realized that I can’t pray and ask God for something that I’m not even sure I truly want. Once I began writing, I actually surprised myself because I saw traits that were SUPER important and others that just weren’t really at the top of my list.

I advise you to try this method out. Once you’re aware of what you want, and you’ve set realistic standards, begin to pray for God to bless you in this area. It’s important to not get discouraged on this journey called life. While other girls around you are getting engaged and dating up a storm, don’t lose heart. You are special to God, which is why He is waiting to bless you with someone just as special.

tumblr_m2r8wnfeBE1qjprrxo1_400

Good things come to those who wait and even better things come to those who love and serve God! Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Beauties, hold on to the promises of God and do not be discouraged.

In case you still haven’t gotten your fix on this topic, I ran across an AMAZING writing by a pastor named Kurtis Dahlin. I strongly suggest that you check it out here. Pastor Dahlin takes a fantastic approach at teaching biblical manhood. His claim is that by simply reexamining the Proverbs 31 woman, we learn everything we need to know about her husband and what kind of man he was. It’s fairly long, but a very insightful and in depth piece. I encourage you to check it out because it made a difference for me 🙂

It is my prayer that you will grow a little closer to the Father today than you did yesterday.

Be Blessed Beauties!

Xo

**Take a second and fill out this short poll!**

Leave a Reply

