spirituality

Is it a Bird? Is it a Plane? NO! It’s Super Saint!

supersaint

Super Saint AKA “Super Christian”!

I have noticed how easy it can be to think that as Christians we have to be perfect. Growing up in a church where my parents were leaders in the ministry, I always knew that others were watching and following my example. Because of this, I think that very early on I developed a sense of aiming for perfection. In my mind: I had to dress nice, I had to befriend everyone, I had to always smile, I had to be at church when the doors opened, I had to start a bible study at my school, I could never have a bad day and blah blah blah. I would get so caught up in doing all of these activities and pleasing everyone around me that I was really missing God altogether, which unfortunately led to me having other issues (maybe I’ll write a blog on that later!).

Beauties, have you ever felt the need to project an image of perfection before? You think that if others see you make a mistake, they’ll think less of you, your parents, your pastors or worst of all God. If you’re striving to be the “perfect Christian” I have some compelling news for you: there is no such thing!!

The Bible plainly tells us that there is only one person in the history of the world who was perfect in every way. He never did one thing wrong, 
Not once did he say anything amiss.” (1 Peter 2:22, The Message) So girl, you can SLOW down and STOP trying to be the “Super Christian” in your group of friends and at your church. Jesus Christ suffered for our sins and wrong doings and took the punishment that should have been for us. Because of his sacrifice, we do not have the burden of being perfect and God doesn’t expect us to. He recognizes that we are humans and that we will make mistakes. The greatest thing about salvation is that it is a GIFT! There is nothing we did to deserve it and there is nothing we can do to make God love us any MORE or any LESS.

This may be a shocker, but no one on this earth is without sin. Not me, not your parents, and not even your pastor (as hard as that may be to believe!). If anyone tells you anything different, turn to the word of God for assurance!!!!

I think that some people in the world have an inaccurate idea about Christians because of the few they have come across who weren’t sincere. I grew up with several people who until they met me, had an extremely warped view of Christians. They were under the belief that all Christians were arrogant and self-righteous. I think this is how terms like “holy roller” and “holier than thou” came about. If you’ve never heard of a “holy roller”, it’s basically a person who is super duper saved and shoves God down the throat of every person they come in contact with! Let us strive to not be that way. There is nothing wrong with witnessing to unbelievers, but often times our actions will speak louder than our words! Also, when we are truly sincere in wanting to share the gospel with others, God will provide perfect opportunities for us to do so!

girlsbibleblog

Now, I must warn you: even when you’re living right and pleasing the Lord, there will be people who step to you with foolishness. They may call you names and snub you and the Christian faith, but remain steadfast. Show love and earnestly pray for those individuals. When you’re living your life for God and trying to do right, it’s inevitable that you will have haters!! That’s just how it is. No one promised that the Christian walk would be without trouble and understand that haters will always come out of the woodwork.

It’s great to be kind to everyone you meet and it’s awesome to plan a bible study at your school, but don’t get so caught up in all of that and begin to think you must be perfect 24/7. Mistakes are what make us human and God is merciful and compassionate. He is filled with unfailing love! (Joel 2:13) When you strive for an unrealistic goal, the pressure will gradually build up and lead to an explosion. That is neither healthy nor a good representation of our Heavenly Father.

When you make a mistake you don’t have to broadcast it, but be transparent about the situation and don’t try to hide it. Most unbelievers are desperately looking for something REAL and they need us to lead them to our perfect savior. How can we do that when we have them confused about what a true believer even looks like?

I encourage you today to step back and evaluate yourself. If you feel convicted, pray this prayer:

“Dear Lord, forgive me for being caught up and missing You. I realize that I haven’t been living as you would have me to. I just want to be pleasing in your sight. Please comfort me and show me Your way. I understand that your son is the only one who is perfect and that I can never be. Teach me how to live in your will. I want to be your hands and feet on this earth the best way that I can. In Jesus’ name, Amen.”

Beauties, if I can change my ways, you can too! If you prayed this prayer today, let me know on the “Have Something to Say?” page. I’d love to be in prayer for you as you walk in a new season! It is my prayer that you will grow a little closer to the Father today than you did yesterday.

Ephesians 2:8-9 (New International Version)

“8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9 not by works, so that no one can boast.”

Leave a Reply

