Uncategorized

19 Days Until Thanksgiving!

LET THE COUNTDOWN BEGIN! 🙂

Beauties, I hope you’re ready for the Holiday season! I know I am! If you plan on traveling like I do, be safe and most importantly enjoy the precious time with your loved ones!

This is the time of year when we should take a step back and realize how blessed we truly are! You may have had a tough year: a dear family member might have passed away, a relationship you thought was forever abruptly ended, or you might be like me and feel that you should have accomplished more than you have at this point! Whatever the case may be you have plenty to be grateful for!

I’ll be honest with you, last night I was throwing a pity party for myself. I got to thinking about all the things that I DON’T have, rather than focusing on all that I DO have. It is so easy to forget about the good and solely focus on the bad! While you might not have a fancy sports car, or a ton of expensive makeup like some of your friends, you have a loving family and you’re in great health. There will always be someone somewhere who is experiencing something much worse than you are. I found myself thinking of Nick Vujicic, a man who by the world’s standards is at the bottom of the ladder. You see, Nick was born without limbs: he has no arms and no legs. Yet, he is by far one of the most content people I think I have ever come across! While some people with his condition might have given up on life a long time ago, Nick travels the world and speaks to thousands of people (school-age children in particular) about not giving up on life and making the most with what you have been given. Make sure you check out the video of him below! He is such an inspiring individual!

The Bible says in 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18: 16 “Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

I’m not sure if Nick knows the Lord or if he has accepted Jesus into his heart, but he has definitely learned and applied what God commands of us in the bible. Nick is obviously working with what he has, he isn’t coveting someone else’s life and he isn’t complaining about his circumstances. He even says at the beginning of the clip with a convincing grin, ”I love living life. I am happy.”

You may be at a point in your life where you feel discontent and wonder why God is allowing certain things happen to you. You see, God knows we are going to have moments where we aren’t thankful for what He has given us. While it’s okay to have a “moment”, we shouldn’t let that turn into a frequent way of thinking!

Colossians 3:15 says, “Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.” Be at peace with where God has you in your life right now! One of my favorite preachers often says, “The BEST is yet to come!” Just because it seems like you don’t have everything you should, GOD has plan for your life! I am learning to believe that and I really hope all of you are too!

Don’t you dare start comparing yourself to someone else because you don’t know what he or she is really going through. They may wear all the name brand clothes and be in a seemingly perfect relationship, yet they are unhappy and cry themselves to sleep at night. If you get nothing else out of this post, I want you to remember to be thankful. Don’t let November and December be the only times God hears you utter a quick “Thanks” to Him. Thank Him throughout the day and thank Him throughout the year. It is my prayer that you will grow a little closer to the Father today than you did yesterday.

Be Blessed Beauties!!

XO

Hebrews 13:5 (New International Version)

“Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said: “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Nick Vujicic Video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4uG2kSdd-4

Leave a Reply

