Life Experiences, spirituality

L.O.L

Macys Thanksgiving Day Parade(Look! There is Snoopy! 🙂 )

You have probably heard people say, “Don’t let anyone rain on your parade.”

Cute saying, right? I get a strange visual in my mind of a huge parade taking place- like the Macy’s parade at Thanksgiving for example. Everyone is so excited and happy about the fun they’re having when suddenly it begins to rain. People start running each and every way to escape the large raindrops and babies are crying. Parade ruined. Or is it?

In my mind, that parade isn’t completely ruined. Even through the rain it could still go on! Grab some umbrellas and ponchos, paste on some smiles, and you’re all set. Sure, you weren’t planning on it raining and you definitely weren’t prepared for it, but life can be crazy and unpredictable like that. Sometimes we allow other people and negative situations to dictate our emotions. We choose to allow ourselves to get frustrated and sad, when we can choose just as easily to “laugh it off” and let God handle it/them.

This past Wednesday I woke up thinking it was going to be a great day! Beauties, I took extra care with my hair and even wore a sundress! I just wanted to be girly and have a “dress up” day. You know how that goes! 😉 I headed to school, excited about learning and seeing my friends, only to have car trouble in the parking lot. I barely made it to my class on time and had to get a ride home when my classes were over. After waiting outside on my ride, my hair was definitely not as cute as it had been that morning. As a matter of fact-it looked pretty gross. I was miserable and my excitement about the day had long ago fizzled. My mood went from irritated to upset to downright sour!

When my dad got off work we headed back to my school to see if we could get my car back home. Now, my father is a handy man and jack of most trades. He was confident that he could fix the problem and he was in a great mood! I, on the other hand, had a pretty funky attitude.  I couldn’t help but wonder: “Why do things like this always have to happen to me!? “ I even had the nerve to be a little salty towards to God! My father worked on the car for a couple hours and in that entire time he had a pretty cheerful attitude. He was actually chuckling and trying to make jokes throughout the entire process!!!

Girl Smoking Engine-resized-600

I had let the circumstances of my day alter my disposition. I had let a little car trouble and frizzy hair mess up my mood for a WHOLE day!  How silly is that? I feel like all of that happened just so I could tell each and every one of you to remember to keep smiling even when things don’t go as planned. No one and nothing should determine your happiness/sadness because you are a daughter of the Most High and He is where your joy should come from. That means that no little boyfriend of yours should affect you to the point that your attitude becomes negative. There is a difference between having happiness and being joyful (but that’s another post altogether 😉 )

The Bible says in Proverbs 15:30, “A cheerful look brings joy to the heart; 
good news makes for good health.” Also, Colossians 3:15 says “Let the peace of God rule in your hearts.” There is no reason to allow yourself to get all worked up. Be even tempered. Be sweet. Be cheerful! Don’t waste time being moody and depressed. This is easier said than done and that’s why you should practice! You WILL get good at it. We all will, myself included. Laughing is good for you. I may not have been laughing when my car broke down or when my hair looked like I stuck my finger in a socket, but I’m smiling today! It is my prayer that you will grow a little closer to the Father today than you did yesterday.

Be Blessed Beauties!

XO

Proverbs 17:22 (NLT): “A cheerful heart is good medicine; 
but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength.

Leave a Reply

