Life Experiences · spirituality

Are You A Worry Wart?

*In the dictionary, the word “worry” is defined as this: to feel uneasy or concerned about something; to be troubled

Beauties, I have a confession to make.

I’m a worrier.

It’s true. I find myself worrying about a lot these days. My grades, my family’s health, how I’m going to pay for school AND how I’m going to pay for gas to put in my car to get me to school! I also worry about my friends and occasionally I worry about really dumb things like what I’m going to wear next week. Well, after some sleepless nights and silly tears the Holy Spirit finally convicted me. I began to realize how silly I must look to God. Here I am claiming to be a daughter of the Almighty and I’m freaking out over some earthly things that will eventually pass away!

It’s so easy to lose sight of the bigger picture isn’t it? And that is precisely what the enemy wants. He knows that when you worry, you will get sidetracked and your eyes won’t stay on Jesus.  The enemy even sends those little thoughts in the middle of the night that leave you feeling discouraged and concerned about things that God has already promised He has under control. Worrying makes situations ten times worse than they really are and stresses us out to the MAX! How many of us can relate to that feeling of just being overwhelmed? If you haven’t, let me tell you: It’s not a great place to be.

drawing worry wart w800I once heard a preacher say that the word “worry” translates into “to strangle” and “to harass”. How crazy is that!? We are merely strangling and harassing ourselves when we let worry eat at us. I challenge you today to stop concerning yourself with things that the Lord can and will take care of. It’s one thing to claim Him as our provider/strength/protector and another to actually believe that He is! The Bible says in Matthew 6:25-27:  25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”

My favorite line is verse 27. How true is that statement!!?? Worrying does nothing positive for us!  AT ALL! You’ll mess around and LOSE days of your life by worrying! I charge you today, myself included, to really trust God at His word. Let’s step out on faith today okay? Just give Him a chance. It is my prayer that you will grow closer to the Father a little more today than you did yesterday.

Be Blessed Beauties!

XO

Matthew 6:31-34: 31 “So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

2 thoughts on “Are You A Worry Wart?

  1. OMG! I am so very proud of you!!! This was excellent and on point! I was blessed by this. You took your time with it and allow God to use you. A+++ in my book! Lord, I ask that you cause this blog to blow up for lives. Cause people of all ages to see you through your daughter. Continue to lead, guide and protect her. Thank you God for peace and favor! In Jesus name Amen!

    Awesome!! Love ya!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

